Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Check out

Options en | €

Tel: +33 (0)2 51 07 51 97

J.J Audubon

J.J Audubon

Jean-Jacques Audubon (or John James Audubon in the United States), born on April 26, 1785 in Cayes (Saint-Domingue) and died on January 27, 1851 in New York, was an American ornithologist, naturalist and painter of French origin, naturalized in 1812, considered the first ornithologist of the New World.
He was raised in Couëron near Nantes where he was fascinated by natural history from his childhood.
In 1803, his father obtained for him a false passport that allowed him to travel to the United States.
He went down the Mississippi with his rifle, his box of colors and his assistant, with the intention of finding and painting all the species of birds in North America. From 1810 he led a wandering life as a hunter, while lovingly observing nature and describing and illustrating flora and fauna, especially birds, with great skill.
His birds are vividly depicted in their natural habitat. This contrasts with the stodgy representations of his contemporaries.
In 1826 he arrived in London with his portfolio. His success was immediate. He was celebrated as the "American Woodsman" and raised enough money to publish The Birds of America between 1830 and 1839. His work, remarkable for its accuracy of detail and beauty of execution, consists of four volumes containing 435 hand-painted life-size plates. King George IV was one of his enthusiastic admirers. Audubon was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society, following Benjamin Franklin who was its first American Fellow. He added to his Birds of America the Ornithological Biographies (Edinburgh, 1831-1839, 5 volumes in-8), which contain the description of the life of each species represented. This work was written in collaboration with the Scottish ornithologist William MacGillivray.
Audubon continued his expeditions in North America and bought a property on the Hudson River, today Audubon Park. Back in his homeland, he undertook, with the help of Dr. John Bachman (1790-1874), the description of mammals, the Viviparous Quadrupeds of North America, which appeared in New York in 1850. The book was completed by his sons and his wife.
John James Audubon is probably buried in Trinity Churchyard, New York, where there is an imposing monument erected in his honor.

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Commander

Options fr | €

Tel: +33 (0)2 51 07 51 97

J.J Audubon

J.J Audubon

Jean-Jacques Audubon (ou John James Audubon aux États-Unis), né le 26 avril 1785 aux Cayes (Saint-Domingue) et mort le 27 janvier 1851 à New York, est un ornithologue, naturaliste et peintre américain d'origine française, naturalisé en 1812, considéré comme le premier ornithologue du Nouveau Monde.
Il est élevé à Couëron près Nantes où il se passionne dès son enfance pour l’histoire naturelle.
En 1803, son père lui obtient un faux passeport qui lui permet de se rendre aux États-Unis.
Il descend le Mississippi avec son fusil, sa boîte de couleurs et son assistant, dans l'intention de trouver et de peindre toutes les espèces d'oiseaux d'Amérique du Nord. Il mène à partir de 1810 une vie errante de chasseur, tout en observant la nature avec amour et en décrivant et en illustrant la flore et la faune, en particulier les oiseaux, avec grand talent.
Ses oiseaux sont représentés de façon vivante dans leur habitat naturel. Cette disposition contraste avec les représentations empesées de ses contemporains.
En 1826 il débarque à Londres avec son portfolio. Son succès est immédiat. Il est fêté comme « l'homme des bois américain » et récolte suffisamment d'argent pour publier Les Oiseaux d'Amérique entre 1830 et 1839. Son ouvrage, remarquable par l'exactitude des détails et par la beauté de l'exécution, se compose de quatre volumes contenant 435 planches grandeur nature peintes à la main. Le roi George IV compte parmi ses admirateurs enthousiastes. Audubon est élu membre de la Royal Society, suivant ainsi Benjamin Franklin qui en fut le premier membre américain. Il adjoint à ses Oiseaux d'Amérique les Biographies ornithologiques (Édimbourg, 1831-1839, 5 volumes in-8), qui contiennent la description de la vie de chaque espèce représentée. Cet ouvrage est rédigé en collaboration avec l'ornithologue écossais William MacGillivray.
Audubon poursuit ses expéditions en Amérique du Nord et achète une propriété sur l'Hudson, aujourd'hui Audubon Park. De retour dans sa patrie, il entreprend, avec le concours du docteur John Bachman (1790-1874), la description des mammifères, les Quadrupèdes vivipares d'Amérique du Nord, qui paraît à New York en 1850. Le livre est achevé par ses fils et sa femme.
John James Audubon est sans doute enterré au cimetière de Trinity Churchyard, à New York, où se trouve un imposant monument érigé en son honneur.